Public Transport Users Association Inc., Org No A-6256L Minutes of Annual General Meeting: Thursday 11 October 2012 Hayden Raysmith Room, Ross House

Attendance: Approximately 50 members of the Association were present.

Apologies: Apologies were received from Cr Alison Clarke, Pat Grainger, Wal Jenkyn, Stuart Kingsford, Nola Martin, Nina Scott, Malcolm Simister, Charles Sowerwine and Rod Watson.

The meeting commenced at 6:30pm. President Daniel Bowen assumed the Chair.

Address: John Stone

Melbourne transport planner and long-standing friend of the Association John Stone gave an address to the membership describing the findings of his recently-completed PhD project at the University of Melbourne, and outlining possible future directions for the Association. His address focussed on the need for the PTUA to engage with a community-led grassroots campaign to force policy change, following the successful examples of Perth and Vancouver.

President's Address

President Daniel Bowen gave a report to the meeting covering highlights of the Association's activities for the year and recent developments in State transport policy, with a focus on train system problems and Myki.

Secretary's Report

Secretary Tony Morton presented a brief report summarising the activities of the Association. The organisation's membership now exceeds 1000 members which is believed to be a record for the PTUA. The bimonthly members' meetings have been maintained as a dialogue between the grassroots and management of the PTUA. This year they included presentations from PT Ombudsman Janine Young, PTV chief Ian Dobbs, and Felipe Carvajal, a transport planner from Bogota.

A vote of thanks was given for the work of the PTUA's volunteers, especially Peter Waters in the office and Margaret Pullar who has contributed substantially to keeping the office in order and running the newsletter mailout team.

Financial Reports

The financial situation of the PTUA remains healthy with an operating surplus reinvested into members' funds to support future campaigns. A mechanism will shortly be provided for members desiring their own copy of the financial statements for 2011/12.

Election of 2012/13 Committee

Daniel Bowen noted that after nine years as President he will be stepping aside to focus on other commitments but will be continuing in a less active role.

Secretary Tony Morton noted that one nomination had been received for each Office Bearer position and nine nominations for ordinary Committee positions, which is equal to the number of positions available for election. In accordance with the Association's election rules, no ballot was required for Committee this year and all nominees were declared elected. The Committee elected for 2012/13 is as follows:

President: Tony Morton Secretary: Tim Petersen Treasurer: Malcolm Simister Ordinary Committee members: Daniel Bowen, Matthew Ferrantino, Ian Hundley, Terry Konstandelis, Tim Long, Paul Prentice, David Robertson, Nalla Sivarasa and Anthony Young.

It was also noted that branch convenors Paul Westcott (Geelong branch) and Jeremy Lunn (Outer East branch) would continue on the committee as ex officio members.

President-elect Tony Morton welcomed new Committee members Paul Prentice, Nalla Sivarasa and Anthony Young, who were each invited to make a brief statement to the membership.

Tony also thanked retiring Committee members Tim Hoffmann and Charles Pick for their contributions, and noted the

important contribution over many years of former Treasurer Kerryn Wilmot, who retired in July this year upon relocating to Sydney.

A formal vote of thanks was given to Daniel for his dedication to the Association over the past decade (TM/PW).

Close

There being no other business, the meeting closed at 7:30pm. Drinks, finger food and general discussion followed the meeting.