## Public Transport Users Association Inc., Org No A-6256L Minutes of Annual General Meeting: Thursday 8 December 2011 Hayden Raysmith Room, Ross House

Attendance: 33 members of the Association were present, including all current Office Bearers.

**Apologies:** Apologies were received from Charles Pick, Pat Grainger, Steve Howard, Nola Martin, Margaret Pullar and Ian Stanley.

The meeting commenced at 6:40pm. President Daniel Bowen assumed the Chair.

#### **President's Address**

President Daniel Bowen gave a report to the meeting covering highlights of the Association's activities for the year, focusing on the new government's promises and actions. A series of 'Problem Of The Day' images were screened.

## **Secretary's Report**

Secretary Tony Morton presented a brief report summarising the activities of the Association. The organisation's membership remains stable at 700–800 members. The PTUA has maintained a focus on engaging the membership through bimonthly members' meetings, which included presentations from Transport Minister Terry Mulder and from former committee member Chris Loader, then of BusVic.

A vote of thanks was given for the work of the PTUA's volunteers, especially Margaret Pullar who has contributed substantially to keeping the office in order as well as running the newsletter mailout team.

### **Financial Reports**

Treasurer Kerryn Wilmot presented the 2010–11 financial statements which revealed a deficit incurred largely due to election campaign expenditure. This expenditure had been foreshadowed at the previous AGM. The Association was able to draw on accumulated savings to cover this additional expenditure. Membership and donation income remains healthy.

### Election of 2011/12 Committee

Secretary Tony Morton noted that one nomination had been received for each Office Bearer position and nine nominations for ordinary Committee positions, which is equal to the number of positions available for election. In accordance with the Association's election rules, no ballot was required for Committee this year and all nominees were declared elected. The Committee elected for 2011/12 is as follows:

President: Daniel Bowen Secretary: Tony Morton Treasurer: Kerryn Wilmot

Ordinary Committee members: Matthew Ferrantino, Tim Hoffmann, Ian Hundley, Terry Konstandelis, Tim Long, Tim Petersen, Charles Pick, David Robertson and Malcolm Simister.

It was also noted that branch convenors Paul Westcott (Geelong branch) and Jeremy Lunn (Outer East branch) would continue on the committee as ex officio members.

Secretary-elect Tony Morton and President-elect Daniel Bowen welcomed new Committee members Matt Ferrantino Terry Konstandelis and Charles Pick, and thanked retiring Committee members Mark Johnson, Jason King and Rob Meredith for their contributions.

# Other Business

Members were invited to contribute ideas for speakers at future members' meetings which will continue to run in 2012. Ian Dobbs was noted as a likely speaker.

## Close

There being no other business, the meeting closed at 7:30pm. Drinks, finger food and general discussion followed the meeting.