Public Transport Users Association Inc., Org No A-6256L Minutes of Annual General Meeting: Thursday 25 October 2007 Hayden Raysmith Room, Ross House

Attendance: 65 members of the Association were present, including all current Office Bearers.

Apologies: Apologies were received from Greg Taylor, Anthony Pitt and Paul Mees.

The meeting commenced at 6:40pm. Secretary Tony Morton assumed the Chair.

Minutes of 2006 AGM

The minutes of the PTUA Annual General Meeting on 28 September 2006 were carried (moved Anthony Morton, seconded Peter Cook). There was no dissent.

President's Report

President Daniel Bowen gave a report to the meeting covering highlights of the Association's activities for the year, including a video montage of coverage of the Association's activities in the mass media.

Secretary's Report

Secretary Tony Morton presented a brief report summarising the campaign activities of the Association, focussing on the transport governance, Federal election and East-West Needs Assessment campaigns, and highlighting the stable level of membership and the strong volunteer presence in the office, newsletter mailout and other day-to-day activities.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Kerryn Wilmot presented the annual financial statements. The financial statements were carried without dissent (moved Tony Morton, seconded Chris Trikilis).

Resolution No. I

The following resolution was proposed to the membership by member Vaughan Williams, seconded by David Robertson. There being no dissent, it was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

"The Association:

- I) Notes that the PTUA Constitution provides that the Association "shall not have any affiliation with, nor financially support, any party political organisation",
- 2) Regards the political independence of the PTUA as vital to an informed public debate, and to fair and measured criticism of the government of the day (whether Labor or Coalition), and of the policies of all parties,
- 3) Acknowledges that many people involved in public interest advocacy also choose to join political parties, and,
- 4) Values the contributions of numerous PTUA members, past and present, who are or have been members of various political parties.

In the interests of the (perceived and actual) independence of the PTUA, the Association adopts the following guidelines:

- I) It will generally be inappropriate for any person who is:
- a) An elected official (such as a Member of State or Federal Parliament, or a municipal councillor), or
- b) An employee of an elected official (such as an electorate officer or ministerial advisor), or
- c) An announced candidate for public office, who is a member of a political party, to be elected to or to hold a position on the PTUA Committee.
- 2) The guideline in (1) above may be applied more flexibly to independent candidates and to members of small political parties (such as the now defunct Public Transport First party), particularly where the member concerned is not an office bearer or media spokesperson. At all times the interests and independence of the PTUA will guide decisions.
- 3) If a PTUA Executive member or media spokesperson wishes to stand for election to public office, they will normally be expected to stand down from their position for the duration of the campaign. This guideline may also apply to a

committee member, depending on the circumstances.

- 4) The Association expects that the principal motivation of committee members will be the advancement of the PTUA's Statement of Purposes.
- 5) The Association expects that committee members will at all times act in the best interests of the PTUA, and will not allow any conflict between their other interests and those of the PTUA. Committee members must be mindful of the reputational risk to the PTUA at all times.
- 6) The Association supports the right of members to hold and advocate their own views. However, it expects that committee members will observe PTUA policy when undertaking PTUA business, and when making public comment in any other capacity, will endeavour to avoid publication of any comments likely to result in their private views being conflated with those of the PTUA.
- 7) These principles are guidelines only, and are not intended to bar any particular member from election to the PTUA Committee. The Association expects the Committee to manage these matters on a case-by-case basis, with all members participating in such discussions in good faith."

Resolution No. 2

The following resolution was proposed to the membership by member Suelette Dreyfus and seconded by Mark Johnson. There being no dissent, it was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

"The Association:

- 1) Notes with concern the recent reported attempts to 'stack' the PTUA for party-political purposes; and
- 2) Directs the committee to investigate appropriate amendments to the PTUA's Constitution and by-laws to prevent such attempts from taking place in the future, and to protect and strengthen the PTUA's political independence."

Resolution No. 3

Member Elaine Hopper moved a vote of thanks to the Committee for its work over the year on behalf of the Association. The motion was seconded by Chris Hooper and carried unanimously.

Election of 2007 Committee

Returning Officer Tony Morton noted that there had been a large number of nominations for Office Bearer and Committee positions but that a number of these were withdrawn prior to the meeting. As a result, there was one nomination for each Office Bearer position and ten nominations for the nine ordinary Committee positions as follows.

President: Daniel Bowen Secretary: Tony Morton Treasurer: Kerryn Wilmot

Ordinary Committee members: Rob Meredith, Tim Long, Mark Johnson, Justine Webse, Vaughan Williams, Anthony Pitt, David Robertson, Karl Tracksdorf, Phil Bourke and Jason King.

Since only one nomination was received for each of President, Secretary and Treasurer, the nominees were declared duly elected.

The ten nominees for Committee were invited in turn to address the meeting, and in response to a question from the floor all nominees were asked to disclose any party-political affiliations.

Following the candidate statement the Chair, in response to a question from the floor, asked if any nominees wished to withdraw their nominations, noting the incoming Committee would be authorised to co-opt up to three additional members at its discretion. Tim Long then withdrew his nomination and, there being nine remaining nominees for the nine positions, the remaining nine were declared duly elected.

It was also noted that Paul Westcott and Jeremy Lunn, as convenors of the Association's Geelong and Outer East branches respectively, would continue on the committee as ex officio members.

Secretary-elect Tony Morton welcomed new Committee members Justine Webse, Karl Tracksdorf and Jason King, and proposed a vote of thanks for retiring Committee member Chris Trikilis who it was hoped would maintain a strong relationship with the Association. It was also noted that long-time Committee member and founding Geelong Branch convenor Tim Peterson was not on the list of nominees but intended to continue an active role in the Association as a

potential co-optee.

A further question from the floor asked why there had been so many withdrawn nominations. Daniel Bowen responded, outlining the nature of the other nominations received and how an apparent party-political stacking attempt had been averted.

Close

There being no other business, the meeting closed at 7:50pm. Drinks, refreshments and general discussion followed the meeting.